fullsizeoutput 12e
Luxury amidst the fiords

Doubtful Sound - 2 Nights / 3 Days

Join us on an adventure to discover untouched landscapes thriving with an abundance of wildlife. Doubtful Sound/Patea is 10 times larger than Milford Sound/Piopiotahi and is defined by lush rainforests clinging to dramatic peaks. Waterfalls are also gloriously abundant in the area.

A maximum of 18 passengers.  

All nine cabins have fiord and sea views and a private ensuite and are full air-conditioned and heated.

DAY 1

Your adventure will start in Manapouri at 12/12.30pm with a boat transfer across Lake Manapouri to West Arm, where you will change to a coach to travel over the Wilmot Pass. Here you will capture breathtaking vistas of Doubtful Sound and the surrounding Mountains. You will board the Fiordland Jewel at Deep Cove.

DAY 2-3

Explore the many arms and islands that make up Doubtful Sound by kayak or by small boat/tender excursions around the inlets and bays. Wildlife is another reason to visit this fiord - keep an eye out for bottlenose dolphins, fur seals and famous birds like the Fiordland crested penguin. Closer to the Tasman we may see Albatross.  On day 3 you will return to Deep Cove for the transfer back to Manapouri, leaving 3.00pm for a 5.15pm arrival.

Please contact us to be placed on a waitlist if we receive a cancellation for any of our scheduled departures in 2020. Current availability:

Thursday November 5-Saturday November 7 - 1 cabin a/v - 1 Resolution
Saturday December 26-Monday December 28 - 5 cabins a/v - 3 Captain Cook, 2 Resolution 
Monday December 28-Wednesday December 30 - all cabins a/v 
Thursday December 31-Saturday January 2 - 2 cabins a/v - 2 Resolution

Dates currently open for bookings in 2021:

Friday January 29-Sunday January 31 - 2 cabins a/v - 2 Resolution
Friday 
February 12-Sunday February 14 - 1 cabin a/v - 1 Captain Cook
Friday April 30-Sunday May 2 - 5 cabins a/v - 1 Governor, 4 Captain Cook
Friday May 14- Friday May 16 
- all cabins a/v
Friday June 11-Sunday June 13
- all cabins a/v
Friday June 25-Sunday June 27 - all cabins a/v
Friday September 3-Sunday September 5 - all cabins a/v
Friday September 17-Sunday September 19 - 7 cabins a/v - 1 Governor, 3 Captain Cook, 1 Endeavour, 2 Resolution

RATES

  • Governor Cabin $3,400 | $1,700 per person (sleeps 2) - Super-King Dbl
  • Captain Cook Cabin $3,100 | $1,550 per person (sleeps 2)- Super-King Dbl
  • Endeavour Cabin $2,600 | $1,300 per person (sleeps 2) - 2 King Singles 
  • Resolution Cabin $2,300 | $1,150 per person, additional child 9-18 $675 (sleeps 4) - Single Bunkbeds

Retail prices are GST inclusive and in NZD, includes return transport per person Manapouri-Doubtful Sound (Boat/Coach), excludes beverages purchased from our licensed bar on board the Fiordland Jewel.

  • Scenic boat transfer across Lake Manapouri to West Arm & bus over the Wilmot Pass to Deep Cove Doubtful Sound. (Round trip)
  • All meals prepared by our on board chef.  Full cooked & continental breakfast, lunch, 3-course dinner and snacks between meals.  We cater to special dietary requirements
  • Watch our crew dive or pull craypots for you to enjoy a lobster for lunch or dinner
  • Complimentary tea & coffee
  • In each cabin: Toiletries available - Body wash & Shampoo/Conditioner (Evolu), hairdryer and linen & bath towels
  • Use of kayaks & Top-deck hot tub (weather dependent)

Excludes

  • Wine, beer & soft drinks (no spirits), these are available for you to purchase from our licensed on board bar. Please note: Do not bring alcohol on board with you, as this will breach our liquor license.